Promoting partnership working in the NHS

Meet The Team

Each of the main partners of the Social Partnership Forum has a chair, lead, and support team. Each partner (DH, NHS trade unions, NHS Employers, NHS England and Health Education England) nominates a chair who is responsible for co-ordinating relevant views. The current chairs are: 

  • Sara Gorton, National Secretary for Health at UNISON
  • Danny Mortimer, Chief Executive, NHS Employers
  • Lee McDonagh, Director General, Strategy and External Relations Directorate, Department of Health
  • Helen Bullers, Acting People and Organisational Development Director, NHS England
  • Lee Whitehead, Director of People and Communications, Health Education England

In addition to the chairs, each partner has a lead and supporting team working regularly on the day-to-day work of the forum. This ensures that the partnership dialogue continues between formal meetings and agreed outcomes are delivered.

Andrew Morris

Department of Health, Head of Stakeholder Engagement

Andrew heads up the Social Partnership Team in DH, which provides the Secretariat for the SPF working closely with NHS Staff Side and NHS Employers Secretariat support. andrew.morris@dh.gsi.gov.uk

Victoria Small

SPF Project Manager, NHS Employers

Victoria is the Project Manager for the Social Partnership Forum and is responsible for the SPF subgroups. These are the Staff Passport subgroup, the Embedding Partnership Working subgroup and the Francis subgroup. victoria.small@nhsemployers.org

June Chandler

National Officer (UNISON), NHS trade unions

June provides the NHS trade union secretariat support for the Social Partnership Forum. j.chandler@unison.co.uk

James Shepherd

Senior Programme Support Officer, NHS Employers

James provides secretariat support for NHS Employers at the Social Partnership Forum. james.shepherd@nhsemployers.org

Hannah Smith

SPF Admin & Comms Support Officer

Hannah is the project support officer for the Social Partnership Forum subgroups and is responsible for the day-to-day running of the subgroups and website. hannah.smith@nhsemployers.org

Robert Pickard

Department of Health

Robert provides the business and Secretariat support to the Social Partnership Forum. robert.pickard@dh.gsi.gov.uk